Nav By Design By Powered By
Home > About Kenya > Kenya Education

Kenya Education

The education system in Kenya provides for eight years of primary education, followed by four years each of secondary and university education. Technical training and labour is provided by the country's polytechnics, institutes of technology and technical training schools. There are also a number of international schools catering for various educational systems, for example American, British, French, German, Japanese and Swedish.

 The country has five public universities:

 University of Nairobi
 Moi University
 Egerton University
 Kenyatta University
 Jomo Kenyatta University of Agric. & Technology

In addition to the public universities, there are 12 private universities. All these offer various degree courses.

Vocational and technical training is an important component of Kenya's educational system. These institutes aim to provide increased training to school leavers. This training takes place in several different kinds of training institutes such as:

  • Youth Polytechnics which offer training to primary school leavers at the artisan level;
  • Technical Training Institutes.
  • Harambee Institutes of Technology (Community-based Government-assisted institutions); and
  • Industrial Training Centres.

 Selected Kenyan Schools:

 Utalii College
 Nairobi School
 Rift Valley Academy
 Rosslyn Academy
 International School of Kenya